Home > The Journey > The first few steps on a journey I’ve been waiting my whole life for.

The first few steps on a journey I’ve been waiting my whole life for.

This is the very start…the start of my journey into the REAL Air Force (not ROTC.) This is where I will chronicle my journey as an officer, whether it be training, random occurrences, or just my daily life. This will help me stay better connected to family and friends back home, and maybe even help someone that comes after me in the Air Force in the years to come. Who knows what’s next, because I certainly don’t. I’m excited, and nervous. I’m hopeful, and sad. These are the first steps on a road in which I have no idea what the future may bring. I’m leaving everything that I know, and practically everyone that I know to chase my dreams. My dream to be an Air Force Officer and fly for the World’s greatest Air Force. So this is it. I leave May 18th for Maxwell AFB, AL.

At Maxwell I’ll be doing Six Weeks of ASBC (Air Space Basic Course)

After Maxwell I go to IFS (Initial Flight Screening)  at Pueblo, Colorado.

After Pueblo I’ll be going to my actual training base at Del Rio, Texas which is Laughlin AFB. I’ll be there by October 2010 and remain there for over a year.

So it’s time to start packing and await my departure. It’s time to start doing what I’ve always wanted to do. What I’ve always dreamed of doing, and what I was meant to do.

Categories: The Journey
  1. Becky Lathrop
    11 May 2010 at 17:18

    I am feeling many of those same feelings you are. I am happy because you are chasing a dream you have had most of your life. Not many of us can say that. I feel a tremendous sense of pride having you for a son. I am scared because I don’t know what the future holds for you. I am anxious because I can’t just run into town to see you when you need something. I am glad you are doing this blog to help all of us stay connected to you. The Air Force is lucky to have you. I know in my heart you are going to achieve so much in your lifetime.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

