Home > Casual Status, Reclassification, The Journey, This and That, Training > The End of Active Duty: The Whole Story

The End of Active Duty: The Whole Story

Well, I don’t know where to begin with this entry really. I thought the one about dropping from Pilot Training was difficult, but this takes the cake. I wanted to write it sooner rather than later. The more time I let pass the less emotion I feel.  At this moment it’s been 18 hours since I was notified, so the wound is still quite fresh. I’m writing the entry so I can always remember, so my friends and family can better understand, and so the situation I found myself in with the Air Force doesn’t happen to other people. I’m going to be pretty honest, and I’m not going to sugar coat anything. People need the facts, and not empty promises or maybes. That’s what I got, empty guarantees and “Oh you’ll be fine!”

So here’s the whole story. I may be mentioning stuff from other entries, but here we’ll have it in the entirety. I dropped from Air Force Pilot Training back in August while at Initial Flight Screening. I didn’t enjoy flying, and some might say it’s just because IFS is hard. It is hard, and it’ll be a wake up call, but you either enjoy it, or you don’t. No matter how much it sucks it comes down to either enjoying being in the aircraft, or not. For me, I didn’t enjoy a moment of it. Flying wasn’t for me, and I experienced the same feeling when I was flying on the civilian side. I realized (with some divine guidance from God I believe) that I wasn’t meant to be a pilot, and instead needed to follow my passion…using my political science degree and going into intel. I talked to the Air Force side of things at Initial Flight Screening. I was told (and this is not verbatim) that if I dropped from Pilot training, I would meet a board to retain me or not and a reclassification board. I asked if they had any stats on how things have been looking recently with reclassifications. They didn’t have any numbers for me there, but after asking around back at Laughlin I had heard that 90% of people were being kept. I decided to drop because there isn’t any sense in the world to do something you’re miserable with. I didn’t want to fly for 12 years and hate it, or take the gamble that it would “grow” on me. I’m a dreamer, and I have big goals but I’m also a realist. The whole flying gig might be cool at first, but it’ll get old, and eventually those pilots will be sitting behind a desk too. Thus I was done with IFS on 20 August 2010, and went back to Laughlin.

Once back at Laughlin, the ball got rolling rather quickly for me to put my package together for reclass/retention. I wrote a one page memo explaining my situation. The memo detailed why I no longer wanted to be a pilot, that I wanted to go into intel, and why I was qualified to do so. On top of that I filled out a new “dream sheet” which had my top five job preferences. I also met with the Squadron Commander who wrote a recommendation on what to do with me. I don’t know what it said, but he has to deal with a ton of these cases a month…I am by no means a special case, or a rarity in this realm of things. He didn’t really know me, and he’s a busy man, so I’ve heard that we all get averages, which would make sense and seem only fair. Some people during the reclassification process have a better chance than others though. You may work for a Col, or a commander of some sort, and they can drop a good word for you and make things happen. It’s how the world works, it’s networking at it’s finest, even if I disagree with that. We all should be on an equal footing, but since we aren’t I’ll play the network card when I go to get a guard slot. I have no hard feelings towards anyone here at Laughlin though, they’ve all been great officers, and quite helpful. I guess I should have just worked in some office than being a gate guard, but that’s what I was assigned. I was dealt that hand, so I was going to play it.

The package went up and we waited, and waited, and waited. Two boards before mine, seven people from Laughlin met the board. All seven were retained. Five of the seven were classified as logistics officers, in which none of them had it as their top five, but at least they got to stay. One was classified as a scientist, and I think (don’t quote me on this) that the seventh was engineer. The board before mine I don’t know the specifics on jobs, but everyone was retained. Then came my board. My board I believe was the last board of the fiscal year. We have no real control when we meet the board and we don’t…we can’t try to push our package back, or push it forward, though I’ve seen odd things happen with some people. One guy submitted his package before I did, and was supposed to be in my board, but happened to be “pushed back” into the board after mine…and we’ll talk about it soon. My board called “009” had a total of 19 people in the Air Force. Four were from Vance AFB, 7 from Laughlin. I don’t know the numbers on Columbus AFB or the Naval Air Stations. Vance had 4 of the 19 people meeting the board…all four were separated. When I say separated I mean they were asked to leave the air force, and discharged within 30 days. This was last Tuesday when they found out 2 Nov 10. We kept hearing rumors and what not and I was unsure what to believe, but then we got some info. Only two people were retained out of the entire board of 19, both from Laughlin. Today we finally had our meetings with the Wing CC. My good friend Brandon and I both had meetings, along with 3 other individuals. Two people weren’t on the list for the meetings, and thus we knew most likely that these were the two that were being retained. Sure enough we were right. One was classified to weather, and the other to a Navigator slot. The five of us with meetings were all notified that we would be honorably discharged in 30 days and separated from the Air Force. That means I get to find another job. If you’re keeping up with the math, 17 people of the 19 people meeting my board were asked to leave the Air Force….never before has their been a board where so many people were not retained. We weren’t told why, it could be the end of the fiscal year and lack of slots, but all of us had clean records…I don’t even have a parking or speeding ticket to my name. It’s not a lack of anything, besides the fact I made the conscious decision to drop out of initial skills training (for me being pilot training) to pursue an avenue I thought I would enjoy and do better at. I was doing the Air Force a favor, and doing it at IFS instead of during UPT. We’re told if we do it during UPT that you’d definitely be done, and separated, so I made mine early. It turns out this didn’t matter at all. There are various situations that bring you to reclassification. It could be you drop out of IFS or UPT…Dropping at IFS is supposed to make it better than dropping at UPT. You can also be medically disqualified. The last is failing out (washing out) at either IFS or UPT. We’re told that fails at IFS sometimes can track to other rated career fields (Remotely Piloted Vehicles, Air Battle Manager, or Navigator.) This is true since one of the two retained went to navigator. UPT fails are usually not allowed such luxuries. I know for certain that myself and Brandon were IFS Drop on requests. Another guy not retained was a UPT fail. A fourth guy was an IFS fail. Across the board we were all asked to leave and will be discharged. To also give everyone some idea of how new this type of trend is…My flight commander in graduation flight has been here since April (longer than I was on active duty) and he never dealt with anyone being separated. Today he dealt with four.

Now many people are wondering why this is happening, and how this could happen to me. Well a lot of it is bad timing, I happened to be in a board that they didn’t have many slots for reclasses…end of the fiscal year most likely. The Air Force is seeking to eliminate far more people dropping or failing from initial skills training than ever before. What that means is your assigned career field is your career field, if you want to switch you run a high risk of being in a position such as my own. Either stick it out, or take the gamble like I did. Of course I’m telling you, your chances aren’t too promising at the moment, and I dropped with the impression and was told by many officers I’d almost be guaranteed a reclass since I didn’t have a negative record. False! False! False! During this time in the Air Force they are riffing people. That means Reduction in Force. The Air Force is only allowed 300,000 people and there is no telling how many people are leaving the air force on a yearly basis. Many people are sticking in longer than anticipated because of the down economy. At the same time the Air Force is continuously training new people to come in…ROTC, Basic, Academy…all have people graduating at a regular rate and joining the Air Force. Combine that with a lack of people leaving = an Air Force that’s over cap and thus over budget, cuts have to be made, and people have to be cut. The focused areas are people not completing initial skills training (like myself.) or people with negative records or criminal charges. Used to be a DUI wouldn’t seal your fate, now getting a public intoxication just might. The Air Force is looking to get rid of people, so keep your head high, nose clean, and stay in your training.

Now the future isn’t as bleak as one may think. The board after mine, had 9 people go up from Laughlin, and six of them were retained. I wish I could have met that board, but nothing I can do about it. It’s luck, and timing. The next board may cut over half of people…or worse, you just don’t know. Also, the Air Force may be in a situation in a year or more where they cut too many people, or too many people left…and thus they need people. People with an honorable discharge like myself, can still sign back up.

Another thing that the Air Force is doing is making people pay back tuition assistance. My friend Brandon is in a position where he accepted an ROTC scholarship (so did I) and the Air Force helped pay for his tuition. Now that they’ve separated him, they want to get that money back…So they notified him that he also must pay back all of that tuition money. The same thing can happen to people from the Academy, and it seems to be a case by case basis. The UPT fail from Laughlin was an academy grad…it said he owed money but it would be sent up the chain to be recommended he not have to pay it back…He’s waiting to be contacted by AFPC (Air Force Personnel Center) to see if he pays it back or not. My situation is basically the best you can be in. I have nothing I owe the Air Force. I took a scholarship but never used a dime to pay for tuition. I used  the stipend and book money only. My tuition was paid for by the good ole state of Indiana, who I hope to be serving in a matter of months via the Air National Guard. So if you’re in ROTC now and reading this…use other scholarships first.

Now some of you have asked me, or may be wondering, what am I going to do now?  Back home in TH is an intelligence Wing, for the Indiana Air Guard. Intel just so happens to be the career field I wanted to go into in the Air Force! I’m now going to do the rest of my 30 days and then go back home and work on trying to get into the Air Guard. Of course this would be as a traditional guardsman, which means one weekend a month type deal…but I’m going to apply for a full time spot whenever one may be available. I don’t really know how I can pass this opportunity up. It’s back home, it’s what I want to do, and I know plenty of people out at the guard base. I already have the necessary clearances, I’m already an officer…I just need the Intel schooling. Once I get back I’ll be going out there and meeting with a couple of the officers to see what I can do in the mean time. The officer board doesn’t meet until Spring when they select their new officers. I have a pretty good shot (but we know what guarantees get you so I’m not going to bank on it until it’s a done deal.) In the meantime I need to find something to pass the time and pay the bills. But I’m quite optimistic.

I just want to finish off with…I am pissed off, I am upset, and I am disappointed I couldn’t stay active duty. I enjoyed almost every minute of active duty. All the people I’ve met have been awesome. The Airmen I worked with were the best part of being in the military, and they were enlisted! I don’t blame anyone at Laughlin, or even the Air Force as a whole. They have a manning requirement and due to the economy people aren’t leaving as projected. They did what they had to do. I took a chance (more of a chance than I realized though) to do something I would enjoy far more than flying, and this is the end result. I don’t regret it, and I’d take the chance again even if it meant the same result as this. You have to follow your heart. You also cannot be constantly scared of losing your job, living with that fear will inhibit you to be the best officer you can be. I wasn’t going to stay in something I didn’t enjoy when I knew I could do better, be happier, and kick more ass elsewhere. All it means is I have to serve my country in a different capacity, but I’m still going to be in the military come hell or a high water. I was born to serve, and this may be a little stumble, but I’ll pick myself up and be a better officer because of this experience. The only thing I wish was that people in my situation or contemplating the same thing that I did, knew the numbers of retention and the chances of reclassifying. So that’s what I’m doing, giving people the information to make an informed decision. Just remember, don’t do something you hate just because you’re scared of losing your job, you’re doing yourself a disservice. Take a chance, and do what you love. Only you can make that decision though, choose your path, and find what makes you happy. It’ll turn out, I know it will. It’s your life, grab it by the horns and throw caution to the wind. Live with no regrets.

“When it comes to a point you’re scared of losing your job on a regular basis, you’re in the wrong place. You need to find what makes you happy, and that’s not living in fear.” -Rob, contractor at Laughlin

This wont be my last post =). I’m not finished in the military quite yet.

  1. Myrna Brown
    11 November 2010 at 17:46

    Michael,
    Just read all this and wanted to let you know I’m thinking of you. Sounds like you’ve got things going, hope all works out for you. I don’t know how I could help you in any way, but you know if its needed, I’m there for you.
    Take care!
    Love you lots !!
    Aunt Myrna

  2. Cory Howe
    13 November 2012 at 13:37

    Mike,
    Somehow I stumbled on your post cruising the interwebs. I’m currently at IFS (RFS for us reaper folks) and am being screened due to an MOA (Manifest of Apprehension). Basically, I’ve never had any private pilot experience before here, or ever been in an airplane except for when I was very young. Being in the air was pretty darn scary and I’m going to pursue different ventures.

    I’m hearing the same things too, “You’re going to be fine!” or “It’s the beginning of the fiscal year, it’s all good!” But your post definitely is keeping me grounded and anything can certainly happen. Best of luck to you brother, and I really hope you get that NatGuard slot as well.

    Best wishes,
    Cory

    • 13 November 2012 at 14:07

      Cory,

      Best of luck to you man. Are you for sure leaving the UAV side of things? I don’t know how much flying you will do once you are through RFS, if at all. Something to think on.

      As far as things go for me. I’m still a civilian and still waiting on the guard. I am actually In the last steps and I should swear in, in January. Long time coming as its been two years since I found out I would be separating. If you have any questions at all hit me up on here or email at
      Mjhart7@gmail.com

      I was actually planning to update/restart this one I’m officially in the guard, I just didn’t want to jinx myself. This whole experience has taught me one thing above all else. Nothing is a guarenteed and you never know what will happen.

      Best of luck! The one thing on your side is you are after the fiscal year, though I havent watched trends of cutbacks.

  3. Sarah
    25 June 2013 at 18:53

    Hey Mike, I read your blog and even though that was about 2.5 years ago, the situation sucked. I’m in your place….the exact place, really. The only difference is that I’m slated to be a nav. I am not excited about flying at all, but I would love to do intel work. I get wicked airsickness, and not to mention, I just don’t enjoy flying at all.

    After reading your story, I don’t know if I should risk it. I haven’t even gone to IFS yet. I am so torn about what I should do. Maybe just do the nav thing until I can cross-train, maybe? It sucks, but I do appreciate you sharing your story/advice.

    • 25 June 2013 at 20:21

      Sarah,

      What is your current status? Are you commissioned? If so how far off is IFS? If you are going to make any decision make it early but I would wait until it gets into fiscal year 2014 If you can. I would have been retained had my reclass not been at the end of the fiscal year. I know it’s still a very cut throat world out there with reclass groups. Try to find out how other classes faired. Usually though the start of a fiscal year is the best because it has the most open slots. If you are going to be miserable the next however many years though, don’t stick it out. Also I know for a fact they are even RIFing Navs. Also once you are a rated officer it’s extremely hard to track out of it into non rated unless yo for some reason are no longer medically qualifie to fly.

      If you choose to reclass and things don’t work out, don’t worry. With a clearance and a commission you can do reserves or guard. I am now an intel officer for the air guard. Just be sure to do it immediately with the paper work and stuff. I waited to long as a civilian before I did anything.

  4. Brian
    10 October 2016 at 17:23

    Hello All,
    First time on site. I sifted through various comments on here and found them to be helpful. As for my current situation, I am a UCT student considering a ‘Drop On Request” and looking for advice/resources to help guide my decision. I came in through ROTC and I have completed IFT. (Barely) I ended up in this career field because I love the Air Force and this is where they placed me. That being said, I am learning quickly that flying and the CSO career field is not for me. I am still very motivated to serve the AF in another career field. My big concern is being removed from the AF. From my understanding, the Air Force doesn’t like quitters and I get that but I am not one to waste time if I know that I will not be successful in this career field. Does anyone have some advice/insight on what life looks like after I drop? What are my current chances of getting reclassed in accordance with AF demand? I know that the fiscal year just started but any additional information is appreciated.

  5. Daniel
    12 January 2017 at 20:35

    I am confused, if the Air Force tells you they dont wont you any more, why are you responsible for paying the Academy or college scholarship. Its their decision that you should leave the AF, not yours. Makes no sense to me

    • 12 January 2017 at 22:09

      We were all dumbfounded when a few of us (that had college paid for) were slapped with that. I am not sure of each of their own circumstances for the determination/how they washed out from training so each situation may have been different. About a year after this occurred I had heard they stopped doing that policy as many of those people fought it and the repayments were dropped. I know my friend that I mention in this entry was at least able to get his repayment removed. Our thoughts were the same as yours, we weren’t the ones making the decision to leave.

      • Daniel Hutnicki
        13 January 2017 at 17:30

        My son is in AFROTC and is waiting to hear if he gets a pilot spot this February. He received no scholarship from them so he doesnt have that issue. I dont think he will have any issues with idea of flying as an occupation as Flight is his major at Purdue. He has been flying now for a while and has his commercial, instrument and multi-engine license. Our main issue is if he doesnt get UPT. He will be screwed as he will lose 4 years of life not flying, therefore delaying his ability to be an airline pilot. As for your predicament, it would seem legally, the AF would have no case to force the money back. However, I am sure the contracts are written so they can do whatever they want. In no other scenario would you see, I give you 10,000 and you give me 4 years of your life. And then 1 year late, its never mind, I want my 10,000 back. It would be laughed out of court

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment